This is a great year for the ‘Best Original Song’ category!

Here are all the five nominees for ‘Best Original Song’ at the Oscars this year. In my opinion it’s a very strong year, though I still wish there could have been a few more contenders. My early favourite was ‘Everything is Awesome’ from ‘The Lego Movie‘, then I really loved ‘Lost Stars’ from ‘Begin Again‘. This week after their performance at the Grammys, I am really loving ‘Glory’ from ‘Selma’ by Common and John Legend, which is pretty much certain to be the winner.

Lyrics are key this year, from the touching heartbreakingly personal ‘I’m Not Gonna Miss You’ by Glen Campbell, to the wacky rapping from The Lonely Island on ‘Everything is Awesome’. I’m really pleased that the Academy has lined up performances of each song for the awards night, it’ll be really enjoyable, especially Andy Samberg rapping about ‘a book of Greek antiquities’!

Take a listen and let me know your favourite.

Leave a Reply

